We still can’t believe that One Direction have been together for more than four years – time goes SO fast!

Seeing the boys performing to thousands of fans in stadiums now, makes us forget that the boys didn’t used to be doing this.

Of course, back in 2010, they were just normal boys who had never met. So, when they got together,we expect they didn’t immediately become the professional band they are now…

Well, in the new ‘Who We Are’ book, Liam Payne confirms just that.

IMG_0846.PNG

In a preview extract published by The Sun, Liam says: “The beginnings of One Direction is such an amazing memory – but we also used to offend so many people.

“We’d use vulgar language, but we were just kids having a good time. Our level of professionalism was horrible.”

He confessed: “The second-ever night of headlining live we sang the chorus of Gotta Be You out of tune. We were like: ‘Oh my God, it was awful’. We were terrible. We didn’t know what was going on – some of us still don’t know today! But you’ve got to be bad sometimes in order to get good.

“Of course, we’ve experienced homesickness, nervousness, being star-struck and nerve-wracking uncertainty,” Liam said.

“Occasionally I can lack confidence in mundane things such as going shopping or into a bar — I get nervous standing out I guess. I also stay in my house a lot as sometimes the public reaction can be intense. But I’ve also met some amazing people such as David Beckham and Michael McIntyre.

“It’s hard say why I deserve to be in this position. I just have to make the most of it!”

The ‘Where We Are’ autobiography is released on Thursday.

